The Husband’s Secret

wp-1472351139037.jpg

Before reading this, I had heard quite a few positive rumblings about this book, and I’m usually pretty skeptical of book recommendations, but I’ll confess I didn’t regret picking this one up. My first encounters with many books happens at work. (Psst, I work in a public library). When I worked as a page (shelver) there was usually ample time to skim what we had on the shelves, and  titles that you put away time and time again start to stick with you and occasionally peak your interest. Unless it is one of the Fifty Shades books, in which case, I’m not interested.
Anyhow, all that to say, I first came in contact with Liane Moriarty books by putting them back on the shelf at the library constantly. I will admit that on numerous occasions I saw her name and just thought of Sherlock…

 sherlock5

Naturally, when I happened across both The Husband’s Secret and Big Little Lies at a library book sale (Yeah, I fucking love the library), and they were practically brand new, I had to snatch them up. After four months of living in a tote bag in the living room, I figured it was time to give The Husband’s Secret a shot. I had been in a bit of a book rut for a while, a page turner was much needed, and The Husband’s Secret did the trick.

*Warning: Spoiler at the end*

First, I have to admit, I am a big fan of books with multiple narrators. I enjoy when the author shows us differing perspectives of the same story, when we are in multiple people’s heads so to speak at different times as the story progresses. Basically, I’m a sucker for multiple narrator stories.

The Husband’s Secret takes place during the week leading up to Easter, and we get to experience the story from the perspective of three different women: Cecelia, Tess, and Rachel. All of these women are pretty intriguing in their own ways, and all three are dealing with some complicated family issues.

Tess: Just found out her cousin and husband have secretly fallen in love with each other.
Cecelia: Crazy organized (read OCD) mother of three and Tupperware saleswoman finds out some staggering info about her husband’s past and is faced with what to do with said information.
Rachel: Lost her teenage daughter nearly thirty years ago, but will never be able to move past it. And now her son and daughter-in-law are planning to move across the world with her one and only grandson, Jacob.

This book hits on some difficult topics and brings our own moral standards into question. As the reader there were multiple occasions where I felt I needed to ask myself what would I do if I were in the position of any of the lead females?

I’ve read quite a few criticisms of these females, but personally I found myself relating to each of them on some level, even if I haven’t found myself in any of their positions. I connected with Tess in particular, perhaps because I took her character to have a bit of a “well screw this” mentality, something I can appreciate. While I cringed at some of the choices she made throughout this book, I could respect the way she processed her issues with her husband, Will.

*Spoiler Incoming* 

Far too often I feel our popular books, movies, television, etc. send this message that it’s perfectly okay to give up on a relationship when it doesn’t go according to plan or when someone messes up. I don’t mean to condone infidelity in any way, but life is messy and people fuck up. I guess what I’m trying to say is, I appreciated that in the end Tess seems to ultimately decide that it is better to CHOOSE to stay with Will and work things out. Love is a choice, something worth staying and fighting for. This just got really mushy..

*Ok the scary spoiler is over now*

All in all, I enjoyed this read, it wasn’t earth shattering or life changing, but it was enjoyable just the same. This was my first Liane Moriarty book and I’m excited to see what some of her other novels are like!

Leave a Reply

